One of my all time favorites!

This week, for one of my design assignments, I opted to do the One Story/Four Icons assignment. I wanted to attempt to reduce a movie to four symbols. Although I am not a huge movie-goer, I realized that after completing the Five Card Flickr activity last week, I needed practice in brevity of storytelling.

My first quest was finding a movie that could be conveyed with icons BUT not easily distinguishable. I searched through my mental movie library of favorites. When I had one or two, I went off in search of icons. I found a bunch using the free icon finder. As I started to peruse, that’s where I found my inspiration to help me hone in on the story I wanted to portray (Clue # 1).

Since the movie is a more obscure choice from my childhood (Clue # 2), I opted to tell the story using icons that represented the pieces of the plot rather than characters (Clue # 3). I looked for symbols that would resonate as if I was playing a game of charades. I copied each of my icons from the site and pasted them into PowerPoint. I then top aligned them and horizontally distributed them across the page. I then put a black border around the pictures and turned it into a .jpg using a snipping tool. I just hope that I told the story as well as its award-winning director (Clue # 4).

Image

You can find the answer here!

4 thoughts on “One of my all time favorites!

  1. Batteries not included? Avengers? Apparently my imagination isn’t as strong as I need it to be. I like how each icon has the same game iconic glow and rounded nature. Some of the feedback I received was that I could improve the image by applying a unifying theme to the icons, despite them coming from different locations on the web. Unfortunately, I didn’t keep tabs on my sources, but that’s definitely something I’ll look forward to including in the image notes…just go to give credit where credit is due.

    The only thing I would add is a hyperlink that links the audience to the answer..because I’m stumped 🙂

  2. I must give you kudos for doing this assignment because I almost did it and Friday night I was struggling with how to pick a movie and do it with icons. So you win for even coming up with four icons. Also you know I already think you are awesome but now with this movie you are even more, this was a favorite of mine growing up too! So glad you picked it. I didn’t get the answer but liked it. I guess the cone and the person threw me off but the other two were good. I liked how you gave clues in your write up. Good job.

  3. Good suggestion and followup. I liked that you made this a game/challenge, and that it meets the criteria of not being so easy that it gives itself away.

    I would like to see specifically the URL link for each icon you found. Let’s say I would like to do a different movie, but that little house icon is perfect. I’d have to do the whole search thing. Linking to each as source gives credit too.

    But designed and explained perfectly.

Leave a Reply

