Ready, Set, Go…

I’m competitive and hate to lose. So, when I heard photo safari, time yourself, get as many pictures done as you can, I really wanted to get them all. However, then I remembered the advice provided in this week’s class video. We were encouraged to not just take photos but to sit and think about the photos we wanted to take. We were encouraged to be patient and anticipate where the next great photograph may come.

So, I found the photo safari exercise a bit of a counter exercise compared to that advice. However, it did make me start thinking about visual pictures. And, even as I tried to come up with creative angles or interesting pairing, I found myself using the same point and shoot angles. I definitely did not get all of the photos done. Nor did I come up with anything particularly interesting. But, the exercise did force me to stop and think and “look” at taking pictures from a different angle.  

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Go…

  1. You did not lose- it’s all about the photos you did, not the ones you did not. I see a lot of imagination in your shots, humor too. I busted out laughing about the kids in the blender. Definitely not belonging together.

    Yes, there is somewhat of a contradiction in the slow approach to being thoughtful about your photos and the structure of the safari. The former gets you thinking more about the potential when you are in a place, to do what photographers call pre-visualization, seeing the image in your mind. The safari is meant to try some thinking on the spot more on how to compose images, or find ways to suggest the goal… quickly. Many times you have to think quickly to capture a special photo, so if you practice both, you can become more versatile with the camera, as you may have either situation without any choice of your own.

  2. I definitely can relate to your feeling in that this exercise went against what we’ve been taught to do in terms of thoughtful photography. It made me think of the days when shots were scarce and you only had 24 or 36 shots to work with on a roll of film. Back then, you really had to think about each shot because (a) you couldn’t see the result immediately and (b) film and developing costs $$$.

    The introduction of digital cameras and cheap memory has allowed many budding photographers access to a trial by error learning approach at relatively low cost, comparatively.

    The way I approached the 15 minute window was to scout DuPont circle for potential candidates prior to starting the safari. I’m not sure if that was cheating, but even with that approach, I missed the “futuristic” shot. All in all, wasn’t it fun having to think on your feet and be the “MacGyver” of photography, making use with what you have around you to beat the clock?

    • I completely agree. The exercise was fun! Even with the photo safari list, we were able to put our own creative twists on things and really think out of the box. This class has definitely helped me stop and think and process things differently. It’s definitely not like most of my other classes!

Leave a Reply

