Final Project Idea: The Importance of Grammer and Punctuation

I create training material for a living. Grammer and punctuation play a HUGE part in helping people understand the content. I saw a post on Facebook earlier in the week about how the correct punctuation “saves lives” when used correctly. Below is a another good example. For my final project, I’m toying around with the idea of creating story on how to use grammer and punctuation to clarify or change meaning. I’m still not 100% on how I could make this work but I think it might be helpful, especially as I continue to work with team members who speak English as a second language.

Image

3 thoughts on “Final Project Idea: The Importance of Grammer and Punctuation

  1. There are a lot of ways you could play this out. It could be the positive/negative impacts of punctuation abuse (poor Grandpa, his path on the good/ill fortune ride hangs on one humble comma). How might you bring in the idea of one or more characters into a story on grammar and punctuation? Can you have the same story play out with bad vs good punctuation? How might media play into this?

    I just keep asking questions- you keep thinking of ideas, you are on your way

  2. Your suggestion for characters is interesting! The minute I read it, I wondered if I could somehow video tape different scenarios of the bad vs. good and then flash to the sentences to show how it plays out. For example, a sign that was posted near my parents house a few years back, “Hunters: Be Careful Shooting Pedestrians Crossing.”

  3. bcodelson says:

    I love this idea! While my punctuation isn’t the best I love to learn the right way to do things. I love https://twitter.com/GrammarGirl and I bet you will too. Another way you could approach this is using a character and showing how their life was changed by using grammar. It’s kind-of a play off what you were already thinking, but with the focus on one person, learning grammar (in turn, teaching some grammar lessons to the viewer.)

Leave a comment